John Clayton Jazz

Still of the Night

(Review by Scott Yanow)
“This CD serves as a perfect introduction to the appealing bop-based style of guitarist Bruce Forman. Accompanied by bassist John Clayton and drummer Albert “Tootie” Heath, Forman is heard in top form on such numbers as “In the Still of the Night,” “Cherokee,” “I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face” and “Lady Be Good”; in addition, he contributed three diverse originals. Recommended to fans of straight-ahead jazz guitar.”

Track Listing

  1. In the Still of the Night
  2. Sea Sweet
  3. My Ideal
  4. Cherokee
  5. Embraceable You
  6. I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face
  7. Oh, Lady Be Good
  8. Collapso
  9. Bluesalizer


Newell Chase, Composer
John Clayton, Jr., Bass
Ronnie David, Engineer
Ron Davis, Engineer
Jim Ferguson, Liner Notes
Bruce Forman, Composer, Guitar
Brian Gardner, Mastering
George Gershwin, Composer
Ira Gershwin, Composer
Albert “Tootie,” Heath Drums
Dean Kamei, Artwork
Alan Jay Lerner, Composer
Frederick Loewe, Composer
Ray Noble, Composer
John Pearson Cover Photo, Photography
Cole Porter, Composer
Greg Remillard, Assistant
Leo Robin, Composer
Allyn Rosenberg, Producer
Richard Tauber, Photography
Richard A. Whiting, Composer